About

The short version? I’m a 30-something guy from Vancouver, living in Victoria with his wife and two children. I work in IT, and enjoy camping and road trips.

The long version? I’ll rehash my old web site once again:

My name’s Mike Newton; I was born on 11 June 197-something, I’m married to a beautiful lady named Brandi, and I have two wonderful kids named Ben and Savanna. I spent the formative years of my life in the town of Maple Ridge, just east of Vancouver, BC. I attended Westview Junior Secondary, back when it was a junior secondary school, and then graduated from Maple Ridge Senior Secondary.

After graduating, I got a job at AirCare testing cars for pollution, a job which gave me money and fulfilled my latent environmentalist desires. It was a good first job, but unfortunately it got unionized and I started making (to my teenage mind) huge sums of money. So I ended up staying there for nearly a decade, even though I ended up disliking it a great deal.

After growing up and getting married, I realized I could no longer keep a job I hated just for the money. So, Brandi and I decided to move to Ireland, where we lived in Sutton, which is a little suburb in north Dublin. After many hard weeks looking for work and a place to live, I got a job as a software support and development engineer for a company called Money Point.

We returned to Vancouver after a couple of years so we could have Ben without paying a couple of thousand euro in hospital bills. When we got back, I worked for a time doing tech support for a crappy little ISP, until I was (fortunately) laid off. Now I am manager of information systems at a small company called Point of Presence Technologies; we manage public access internet systems at hundreds of locations across Canada, mostly hotels and student residences.

We moved to Edmonton for a few years while Brandi studied at the University of Alberta, and are now back in BC so she can do graduate work at the University of Victoria.

Brandi and I spend most of our time working, sleeping, or looking after kids. But we love camping and the outdoors, and get out whenever we can – that should be easier as the kids get older. We both love travelling, although I’d be happy driving a car around North America, while she wants to see every country in the world. Ask me in 20 years which one we end up doing more of.

One Reply to “About”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

7 + one =